Most recently, it has existed as a wish since I began the P90X program. I have dreamed of being able to do pull-ups, to not look foolish as I grasp my hands on the overhead bar, engage my muscles, use all my might and barely get a shoulder shrug in. I would sheepishly smile, crack a joke, and step away from the bar so 'those that could do pull-ups' could use the equipment to get as many reps in before it was time to move to something else.
I have said (under my breath & really quietly) that I would be an amazing feat if I could do one this year BUT I haven't believed that it was actually possible. I read the comments my Coach left on the last blog post and it made me realize that I am approaching things all wrong. First, I haven't really believed in myself and my own capabilities. Second, I shy away from practicing and working towards my goals vs. focusing on incremental improvement. Third, I haven't enlisted the support of those who can help me, my trainers and my friends.
That all changes, right now! I am committing to the goal of performing a real, un-assisted pull-up by January 1, 2011. I know I am physically capable if I do the work. I also know that there are people who will help me through coaching, encouragement,and holding me accountable to my own word, and perhaps a few (I'll settle for 1 or 2) of you will join me on my quest! =^_^=
Everything is possible!
No comments:
Post a Comment